Austrian Post
Flexibox

 

We all know that: the postman wants to deliver a parcel, but nobody is at home. Thus, the parcel is deposited at the post office, you have to go to the post office specially. Wouldn´t it be better if the parcel could be delivered, even if you were not at home? For this purpose, you use the post´s Flexibox, which you put in front of the door to your flat on the day of the expected delivery.

In order to avoid it being stolen, it is fixed on the door with a cut-resistant belt. The belt is tightened from the inside of the box to ensure there is no gap between door and box. The box is locked with an RFID key. Only the deliverer and the owner can open the lid.

The measurements were chosen to ensure that on the one hand the escape space is hardly reduced (corresponds to the tolerance), on the other hand that as many parcel sizes as possible fit inside.

As you don´t receive parcels every day, the Flexibox will remain in your hall most of the time. Thus, the main topic in designing it was to let the Flexibox appear as neutral as possible – thereby it should harmonise with the parcel receivers´ expected different styles of living. During this time, the lid serves as a storage tray in neutral anthracite, the matt surface structure ensures pleasant surface feel and is tolerant towards scratches caused by keys or the like.

The flexibox is produced in Austria and can be ordered at the postshop.

Österreichische Post
Flexibox

Wir kennen das, die Post will ein Paket zustellen, doch niemand ist zu Hause. Also wird das Paket beim Postamt hinterlegt, man muss extra zur Post gehen. Besser ist es, wenn das Paket zugestellt werden kann, selbst wenn man nicht zu Hause ist. Dafür verwendet man die Flexibox der Post. Die stellt man am voraussichtlichen Zustelltag vor die Wohnungstür.

Damit sie nicht gestohlen werden kann, wird sie durch einen schnittfesten Gurt an der Tür fixiert. Festgezurrt wird der Gurt von der Box-Innenseite, sodass kein Abstand zwischen Tür und Box besteht. Die Box wird über einen RFID-Schlüssel versperrt. Nur der Post-Zusteller und der Eigentümer kann den Deckel öffnen.

Die Abmessungen wurden so gewählt, dass zum einen der Fluchtweg kaum verringert wird (entspricht der Toleranz), zum anderen möglichst viele Paketgrößen hineinpassen.

Pakete erhält man nicht jeden Tag, daher steht die Flexibox die meiste Zeit im Vorzimmer der Wohnung. Das Leitthema der Gestaltung war somit, die Flexibox möglichst neutral in ihrer Erscheinung zu halten, sodass sie mit den zu erwartenden unterschiedlichen Wohnstilen der Paketempfänger harmoniert. In dieser Zeit fungiert der Deckel als Ablageschale in neutralem Anthrazit, die mattierte Oberflächenstruktur sorgt für eine angenehme Haptik und ist tolerant gegenüber Kratzer durch Schlüssel o.ä.

Die Flexibox wird in Österreich hergestellt und kann beim Postshop bestellt werden.

Pin It on Pinterest